Privilege.

In honor of Indigenous People’s Day, I am going to take a moment to recognize and come to terms with the privileges that come with my identity.

I recognize my white privilege.
I recognize my European descent.
I recognize my Judaism, in the face of rampant Islamaphobia.
I especially recognize being a Jew of European descent, Ashkenazi, in the face of discrimination in Israel towards Mizrahim

I recognize my American privilege.
I recognize my class privilege, in the face of so many of my peers who cannot afford a university education.
I recognize my female privilege, in the face of those who identify outside the gender normative.
I recognize my privileges as an able-bodied person.

A map of those without privilege…

I recognize my privilege, in the face of the disappearing Palestinian homeland, and the disappearing Native American homeland. I recognize I live and bus and go to school on land that was once forested, lived on and cultivated by another people. I recognize the crimes on this land and the land of Palestine, that are happening in my name:
White
American
Jew

3 responses to “Privilege.

  1. Hi there, I found your blog via Google while searching for first aid for a heart attack and your post
    looks very interesting for me.

  2. Lovely sharp post. By no means believed that it was this quick. Extolment to you!

  3. Hey extremely nice blog!! Man .. Lovely .. Remarkable .. I’ll bookmark your blog and take the feeds
    also…

Leave a comment